FAQ
Travel Insurance
Home Insurance
Travel Insurance
  • I have an i-Travel (Annual) insurance policy. Does it cover all my journeys made during the year?
  • I planned for a 5-day trip in Singapore and purchased an i-Travel insurance policy. On the last day of my trip I suffered from serious diarrhea thus I have to stay in Singapore for 2 more days. Will my i-Travel insurance policy provide coverage?
  • My planned travel period is within the period of insurance of my i-Travel Policy. During the middle of my trip, I wish to extend my travel plan. Will my i-Travel Policy automatically extend the period of insurance?
  • I fell sick while I was travelling but I did not consult a doctor. I only did so when I came back to Hong Kong. Am I covered?
  • I am going on a business trip after which I will stay behind for my personal travelling. Can I only take out travel insurance for my personal travel?
  • When I returned to Hong Kong from a trip, my baggage was delayed. Am I covered under my i-Travel Policy?
  • What should be my policy inception date for a flight schedule starting at midnight?
  • I will be travelling to Phuket this weekend, but a tsunami has just hit the tourist spot today. I want to cancel my trip. Am I covered?
  • Phuket has just been hit by a tsunami today. Although I only plan to go there 3 months later, I want to cancel my trip now, can I claim my travel expenses so far?
  • I originally planned to travel from Edinburgh to London then to Hong Kong by air. Unfortunately the volcanic ash had halted the air traffic in Scotland. I chose the road transport instead to travel to London in order to catch the flight to Hong Kong. Can I claim the road transport costs?
  • I originally planned to take a public coach from Central Taiwan to Taipei where I will take a flight back to Hong Kong. Unfortunately the heavy rain and landslide had blocked off the road and my flight had gone. I therefore bought another air ticket to return to Hong Kong. Can I claim the additional air ticket cost?
  • I missed my flight since there was a traffic accident on my way to the airport and the road was congested. Consequently I had to purchase another air ticket to reach my destination. Can I claim back the extra ticket fees?
  • London Heathrow Airport was temporarily shut down due to the spread of the volcanic ash, diverting all the flights to its neighboring airport in Paris. As a result, the Paris Airport became too busy in air traffic that flights were delayed. I planned to fly from Paris back to Hong Kong and my flight had been delayed for 8 hours to take off. Am I covered?
  • I planned to fly from New York back to Hong Kong but my flight got delayed for 8 hours. The Airline explained that the delay was due to "Air Traffic Control". Can I claim for the delay?
  • Will I be covered if I got injured by terrorist attack while travelling?
The policy provides cover for unlimited number of journeys made during the insurance period. Each journey does not last more than 90 days. If the journey exceeds 90 days, the whole journey will not be covered under the policy.

If your journey lasts more than 90 days, you are recommended to take out i-Travel (Single-Trip) insurance policy which covers any journey up to 182 consecutive days.
Yes. i-Travel Policy will provide coverage. Your coverage under your i-Travel Policy will be automatically extended for a maximum of 14 days if your trip is delayed due to your sickness.

The insurance period of i-Travel Policy will be automatically extended in the following circumstances:
a) Death,
b) Bodily Injury, or
c) Sickness
of you, or your Immediate Family Members, fiancé / fiancée , or Close Business Partner traveling with you.

As a friendly reminder, such circumstances must be supported by a written confirmation from a legally registered medical practitioner from your traveling country during your claim.
Your i-Travel Policy will only be automatically extended for reasons stated in the Travel Delay and Missed Departure Section. If you wish to extend your trip for other purposes and also extend the period of insurance, you are advised to contact us before policy expiry to obtain our prior consent. An additional premium may be required to extend your period of insurance under these circumstances.
Unfortunately, your medical expenses incurred after your return to Hong Kong are not covered. Under your i-Travel Policy, we only pay for medical expenses incurred as follow-up treatment in Hong Kong if you have consulted a Legally Registered Medical Practitioner overseas for the same sickness during the insured trip.
I'm afraid not. It is because travel policy only covers journeys which start in Hong Kong. Therefore, if your company has purchased travel insurance for your business trip, it is recommended to extend the period of insurance to cover your personal trip under the same policy. Otherwise, if your company did not purchase travel insurance for your business trip, it is recommended that you buy a travel policy for your whole trip including both the business and personal travel to ensure protection.
I'm afraid not. Delayed Baggage protection is only available when your check-in baggage was delayed in your outward journey. The intention of this cover is to assist you when you are deprived of essential supplies when away from home. When you return home, it is expected that you will have easy access to such supplies without assistance.
You're recommended to take out travel insurance a day prior to your midnight flight to ensure your journey from home/office to airport will also be covered.

This is because the coverage of i-Travel either commences:
a) when you leave your home or office in Hong Kong for the sole purpose of starting the trip, or ,
b) at the policy inception date

whichever is later.

For example, your flight is scheduled on 00:30 am 10th March. If you take out travel insurance from 10th March and if unfortunately your car crashes during your journey to the airport at 11.30 pm 9th March, then you will not be protected by i-Travel Policy as the travel insurance policy is only effective on 10th March.
Yes, since your journey is unavoidably cancelled by the tsunami, you will be covered for any unused travel and accommodation expenses that you have already paid or must pay and at the same time you cannot recover them from any other source.
I'm afraid that you cannot claim under our policy if you make the cancellation now. Our Trip Cancellation cover will only become operative if the natural disaster has resulted in more than 24-hour delay in your scheduled departure from Hong Kong.
Yes, we will reimburse you the additional road transport fares since the ash from the volcano – which is a natural disaster -- has caused the failure of your scheduled flight to get you to your planned destination – London.
Yes, we will reimburse you the additional air ticket expense as the public coach had failed to get you to the Taipei airport due to adverse weather which is one of the specified perils covered in our policy.
Unfortunately you cannot because traffic accident is not our specified peril that we will cover in our travel policy.
Yes, you would be compensated with HK$250 for your flight delay which was caused by the suspension of the London airport resulting from the spread of the volcanic ash, i.e. a natural disaster.
We are sorry that we cannot proceed with your claim because "Air Traffic Control" does not fall within our policy coverage in Travel Delay Section. However, you would be compensated with HK$250 for your flight delay if the delay from "Air Traffic Control" is directly or indirectly resulted from adverse weather condition or natural disaster.
Yes. i-Travel Policy extends to cover death or bodily injury, medical expenses and emergency assistance services in case of terrorist attack while traveling. However, it is noteworthy that we do not cover such acts of terrorism that involve the use of biological, chemical agents or nuclear devices.
Home Insurance
  • What is covered under a FamilySurance Plus 4.0 Insurance Policy if a water pipe bursts at home?
  • I am moving to a new home. Am I covered under my FamilySurance Plus 4.0 Insurance Policy?
  • If my domestic helper causes damage to third party properties or injures a third party, am I covered under FamilySurance Plus 4.0 Insurance Policy?
  • If a window frame falls from my flat, am I protected by my FamilySurance Plus 4.0 Insurance Policy?
  • I have renovated my home to have an open kitchen. Is it covered under my FamilySurance Plus 4.0 Insurance Policy?
  • My home was burgled and I lost my expensive watches and HK$50,000 in cash. Am I covered under my FamilySurance Plus 4.0 Insurance Policy?
  • My apartment is let. Can I just take out the optional cover of the Building Insurance under the FamilySurance Plus 4.0 Insurance Policy?
When a pipe bursts, the following may happen:
the wall behind which the pipe is laid may require repainting ;

the wallpaper may need to be replaced;

the wooden flooring may need to be replaced;

the electricity cables and switches may need to be replaced;

the lower part of the furniture such as the dining table, the wardrobes, the beds may be wet, requiring repair or replacement;

water may have seeped through the floor to the unit below, resulting in a claim for the cost of repairs etc. from the tenant below


The reasonable cost of repairs to, or replacement of, the furniture will be paid as Household Contents subject to a policy excess. In some cases, the claim payment is also subject to a deduction for wear and tear.

The cost of replacing the electricity cables and switches, repainting the wall or replacing the wallpaper is not payable under the Household Contents Section of the Policy as the wall, wiring and switches form part of a Building. However such cost can be paid, subject to a policy excess, if you have purchased the Building Section of the Policy. The same situation would apply to the wooden flooring.

It is worth noting that unless there is clear evidence to show that the pipe burst is caused by an external accident e.g. someone has struck the wall hard to break it and subsequently the pipe, the cost of repairing or replacing a burst pipe is not covered under any insurance policy. As pipes are usually hidden behind and protected by walls, if they burst it is most likely to be caused by their own wear and tear (which is a common exclusion by insurance policies) unless there is obvious external force.

As to the claim from the landlord below, the Personal Liability Section of the Policy will help you take care of this. Whether the Policy will eventually pay out depends on whether you are legally responsible for the burst and the subsequent escape of water to the floor below. If it is proven that the water damage occurred because of your negligence, the Policy will pay the indemnity after recovering from you a policy excess. If you are not responsible for the water damage, the Policy will not pay the tenant below.

In order for the insurance company to handle the claim on your behalf, please ensure that you comply with the Claims Conditions.
Subject to a few exceptions and a maximum limit, your Household Contents are covered under the Policy in the course of your household removal if this is done through the service of a professional remover. Please refer to your Policy for the amount of the maximum limit. Each loss is also subject to a policy excess as stated in the Policy.

The items of Household Contents which are not covered in this situation are:
Money

Valuable Property

fragile items which are unsuitably packed
If the domestic helper causes the damage or the injury while she is working for you, e.g. when she is cleaning the windows at home or shopping in the supermarket for your household needs, legally you are liable for her acts. In this situation, the Policy will provide cover for you.

If the domestic helper causes the damage or the injury while she is acting for herself only, e.g. when she is on leave, you are not legally liable for her acts. Under these circumstances, the Policy will not provide cover for such damage or injury.
A window frame is part of a Building. If you have purchased the Building Section, the replacement cost of the window frame is covered by the Policy as long as the cause of its fall is not excluded by the Policy. For example, if it falls because of the strong wind in a typhoon, the Policy will pay for the replacement. However if it falls because of its own wear and tear or corrosion, the Policy will not pay for the replacement.

If a third party is injured or if third party properties are damaged as a result of the fall of the window frame, you will incur legal liability. Such liability is covered by the Personal Liability Section of the Policy regardless of the cause of the fall of the window frame.
As long as the renovation was done in compliance with all relevant regulations, the open kitchen continues to be covered as part of the Building under the Building Section of the Policy.
The Policy will pay for the lost watches up to a specified maximum value per watch as stated in the Policy. The Policy also specifies a maximum value for all the watches and valuable items. For example, the Policy may pay a maximum of HK$15,000 per watch. In total, the Policy will pay up to approximately HK$166,666 or HK$333,333 for all the watches and valuable items under the Household Contents Section of different plans.

If any of your watches is worth more than the maximum value as stated in the Policy and you would like to insure it for its full value, please contact our hotline. You may be required to supply more information or documents for us to consider whether or not such a watch can be insured up to its full value subject to an additional premium.

As to the loss of cash, the Policy will pay up to a maximum value as stated in the Policy e.g. HK$1,000 for each loss.

You are advised not to put too much cash at home as the cover for any loss of cash is limited.
Unfortunately you cannot. The Household Contents Section is the basic cover of FamilySurance Plus 4.0 Insurance Policy which is mandatory for purchase. If your apartment is let together with your furniture and electrical appliances, FamilySurance Plus 4.0 Insurance Policy will provide relevant cover. In your case where you are not residing in the insured apartment, the cover will be limited to any loss of or damages to the household contents caused by the named perils such as fire, explosion, flood, typhoon, etc.

常見問題
旅遊保險
家居保險
旅遊保險
  • 我投保了i-Travel(全年旅遊)保險單,此保單是否保障我全年所有的旅程?
  • 我計劃到星加坡旅遊5天並投保了i-Travel。在旅程的最後一日由於嚴重腹瀉,所以我在星加坡多逗留2天。i-Travel會否為我提供保障?
  • 我原定的旅程期限在 i-Travel 的保障期限內。在旅程途中我希望延長旅程,i-Travel 會否自動延長保障期限?
  • 在外遊時,我感到身體不適但沒有向醫生求診,直到我回港後才求醫,這樣我會否受到保障?
  • 我將要出外公幹,之後我會停留當地遊玩。我可否只為我私人遊玩期間購買旅遊保險?
  • 我在旅遊後返抵香港時,行李受到延誤,這會否受i-Travel 保險單所保障?
  • 我的航班在凌晨起飛,我的保險應該何日開始生效?
  • 我將於本週末去布吉旅遊,但海嘯剛剛侵襲當地旅遊景點。我想取消行程,我是否能獲得保障?
  • 布吉今日剛剛受到海嘯侵襲。雖然我計劃三個月後才到布吉旅遊,但我現在想取消行程,請問我的旅費能獲得賠償嗎?
  • 我本來計劃乘飛機由愛丁堡飛往倫敦再飛到香港。不幸地,火山灰令蘇格蘭的航空交通停止運作。我遂選擇以陸路交通到倫敦以趕及乘搭往香港的班機,請問我能就陸路交通費用獲得賠償嗎?
  • 我本來計劃乘搭公共客運由台中到台北,然後由台北坐飛機回香港。不幸地,由於暴雨及山泥傾瀉阻塞道路,令我錯失了航機。如是者我買了另一張機票飛返香港。我能否就額外購買的機票獲得賠償?
  • 由於發生交通意外,前往機場的道路交通擠塞令我錯失了航機。因此我需要另外購買一張機票到達預定目的地。我能否就額外購買的機票獲得賠償?
  • 受到火山灰蔓延的影響,倫敦希斯路機場暫時關閉,所有往倫敦希斯路機場的航機須改道前往鄰近巴黎的機場。結果巴黎機場不勝負荷導致航班延誤。我計劃由巴黎飛返香港,而我的航班已被延誤超過8小時,請問我能否獲得保障?
  • 我計劃由紐約飛返香港,但航機已被延誤8小時。航空公司解釋延誤是由於「空中交通管制」所造成的。我能否就此延誤獲得賠償?
  • 若我於旅途中因恐怖襲擊受傷,我能否得到保障?
此保單保障一年無限次的旅程,每次旅程最多為期90天,如旅程超過90天,則整段旅程均不獲保障。

若您的旅程持續多於90天,我們建議您投保保障旅程持續達182天的i-Travel(單次旅遊)。
可以,此情況下i-Travel會提供保障。若您因病而延長旅程,您的i-Travel保單將會自動延長保障期至最長14 天。

若您或您同行的直系親屬,未婚夫/未婚妻,或主要商業夥伴

a) 死亡,
b) 身體受傷,或
c) 生病

根據保單,i-Travel會就上述情況自動延長保障期限

有一點必須留意,要享有自動延長保障期,您需要在索償時,提供由當地合法註冊醫生發出的書面證明。
您的i-Travel保單會因應保單中行程延誤及啟程誤點項目中所訂明之原因而自動延長保障期限。如您因其他原因需要延長旅程及保障期限,請盡快並於計劃保險期屆滿前聯絡我們。在這種情況下,您可能需要繳付延長保障期限所需之額外保費。
很抱歉,您在港求醫的費用在這情況下將不受i-Travel 保險單保障。在港求醫的保障,只限覆診用,主要保障您於受保期間,曾在海外向合法註冊醫療機構求醫的同一病症,於返港後再作覆診。
抱歉此並不可以。這是因為旅遊保單只保障由香港起始的旅程。所以,假如您的公司已為您公幹期間安排了旅遊保險,我們建議您延長該份保險的保障期限至包括您的私人旅程。若您的公司沒有為您的公幹旅程購買旅遊保險,建議您投保一份保障期限包括公幹及私人旅程的旅遊保險以確保有足夠保障。
抱歉此延誤並不受保障。行李延誤保障只適用於去程。此項保障的目的是助您萬一在離境後未能領回行李,在缺乏隨身物品的情況下,提供保障以購買必需品,以應付不時之需。假若此情況發生於您返港後,在毋須協助下您亦可以很容易購買有關物品。
我們建議您將旅遊保險定在凌晨航班起飛的前一日生效,以確保您由住所/辦公室前往機場的旅程都可以受到旅遊保險的保障。

這是因為 i-Travel 的保障起始於:
1) 當您離開位於香港的住所或辦公室直接啟程,或;
2) 保單起保日

以較後者為準。

舉例說,您的航班原定於3月10日凌晨12時30分起飛。若您投保了由3月10日開始生效的旅遊保險,而不幸地您在3月9日晚上11時30分前往機場的旅程途中遇上車禍,那您將不會受到於3月10日才開始生效的旅遊保險的保障。
可以。由於您的行程因海嘯而無可避免地取消,您可獲賠償您已支付或必須支付並未使用而又同時不能從任何其他途徑退回的旅行及住宿費。
若您現在取消旅程,抱歉您未能由我們的保單中獲得賠償。只有當自然災害導致您原定行程被延誤超過24 小時以上時,旅遊保單的取消行程保障方有效。
可以。我們會賠償您因火山灰( 一種自然災害)所造成的航機延誤而未能載您飛往目的地(倫敦)所導致的額外陸路交通費用。
可以。基於該公共客運因惡劣天氣而無法載您到台北機場,而惡劣天氣為保單其中之一個受保風險,所以我們會賠償您額外的機票費用。
很抱歉,您未能就額外購買的機票獲得賠償,因為交通意外並不是保單列明的受保風險。
可以。由於火山灰,即自然災害的影響導致倫敦機場停止運作,您可因延誤而獲賠償港幣250元。
很抱歉,我們無法為您的情況作出賠償,因為「空中交通管制」並不屬保單中行程延誤項目的承保範圍。然而,若「空中交通管制」是由惡劣天氣或自然災害所直接或間接造成,您將可因行程延誤獲得港幣250元的賠償。
可以。i-Travel保單伸延保障至在旅程中因恐怖襲擊而導致受保人死亡或身體受傷、醫療費用及全球旅遊保障支援服務。然而,值得注意的是我們並不為涉及使用生物劑、化學劑或核子裝置的恐怖活動提供保障。
家居保險
  • 若家中出現水管爆裂的情況,家居保4.0保險單會提供什麼保障?
  • 在搬遷至新居的過程中,我可得到家居寶4.0保險單的保障嗎?
  • 家居寶4.0保險單是否保障家傭導致的第三者受傷或財物損毁?
  • 如家中的窗戶墜落,我可得到家居寶4.0保險單的保障嗎?
  • 我將居所的廚房改裝為開放式廚房,我仍可得到家居寶4.0保險單的保障嗎?
  • 我的家居被盜竊,損失了數隻名貴手錶及港幣50,000元,我可獲得家居寶4.0保險單的保障嗎?
  • 我的物業已出租,我可否只投保家居寶4.0保險內的樓宇結構保障?
當水管爆裂後,以下情況可能會發生:
可能需要重新油漆覆蓋水管的牆壁

可能需要更換牆紙

可能需要更換木造地板、地腳線

可能需要更換電線和電制

可能需要修理或更換已濕透底部的傢俱如餐桌,衣櫃或睡床

水可能會由地板滲透到下層,導致下層業主索償有關之維修費用


有關修理或更換傢俱的合理費用,於扣除自負額後,會在保單的家居財物部分作出賠償。在某些情況下,賠償款項會因耗損程度而被部分扣減。

由於牆壁、電線和電制屬於樓宇結構的一部分,有關更換電線和電制、重新油漆牆壁或更換牆紙的費用並不包括在家居財物的範圍內。若您有購買樓宇結構部分的保障,有關費用可於扣除自負額後在樓宇結構部分索償。這種情況同樣適用於地板和地腳線。

值得注意的是,除非有明顯證據證明水管是因為外來意外,如遭人猛烈擊打牆壁引致水管爆裂,否則維修及更換水管的費用並不受保。由於水管通常受牆壁掩藏及保護,若非受到外來明顯的壓力,其爆裂情況大多數因本身損耗所致,而自身損耗一般都不是保險單可保障的範圍。

至於由下層業主提出的索償,保單中個人法律責任部分會向您提供保障。到底保單最終會否支付款項,則視乎有沒有證據指出是由您的疏忽引致水管爆裂及水浸,假若事件證實由您的疏忽引致,於向您收取有關的自負額後,保單便會向下層業主賠償。否則,保單不會向下層業主賠償。

為了讓保險公司代您處理索償,請遵從保單所列明的索償條款。
如您聘請專業搬運公司為您搬運家居財物, 除了保單的不受保事項外,您可根據條文得到保障。請參閱保單就遷居保障中每項物件的最高賠償金額,並留意每項損失的自負額。

請留意下列家居財物將不會在遷居時獲得保障:
金錢

貴重物品

包裝不當的易碎物件
當家傭根據您的指示為您工作時導致第三者財物損毁或受傷,如在家中抹窗或到超級市場替您購買家居用品時,在法律上您須承擔由家傭引起的責任,在此情況下,您可從保險單獲得保障。

在家傭並非在執行您指派的工作時導致第三者財物損毁或受傷,如家傭正在休假中,在法律上您毋須承擔其引起的責任,在此情況下,保單將不會提供保障。
窗戶屬於樓宇結構的一部份。如您選購了樓宇結構保障,而窗戶墜落的原因並非保單內列明的不受保事項,您可獲賠償重置窗戶的費用。例如:窗戶因颱風吹襲而墜落,您便可獲賠償重置費用,但如窗戶因其日常使用時的損耗或被侵蝕而墜落,這便不屬保障範圍,您將不獲有關賠償。

如因窗戶墜落引致第三者財物損毁或受傷,您須承擔有關的法律責任。無論該窗戶是否因日常損耗而墜落,您都可得到保單內個人法律責任部分的保障。
如您已遵從所有相關的法例規定進行改裝,該開放式廚房將被納入樓宇結構的一部份,並可獲保單內樓宇結構部份的保障。
您可根據保單列明每項貴重物品如手錶以及金錢損失之最高賠償額獲得賠償。保單亦列明所有手錶及貴重物品的總賠償額上限。例如保單會為每隻手錶賠償最高港幣15,000元,而所有手錶及貴重物品的總賠償額最高可達港幣166,666元或333,333元不等。

如您的手錶價值高於保單列明的最高賠償上限,而您希望投保其實際價值,請聯絡我們的熱線。您可能需要向我們遞交有關文件作為參考,以決定是否可以在增收保費的情況下,提高有關手錶的保障金額。

對於您的金錢損失,很抱歉,我們會賠償保單列明的最高上限,即每宗損失港幣1,000元。由於賠償額有限,建議大家不要放置太多現金於家中。
家居寶4.0中的家居財物保障屬於基本保障,必須投保,不能只買自選的樓宇結構保障。倘物業連同傢俱電器一併出租,家居寶4.0可提供有關的保障,但由於受保物業非自住,保障範圍會略為收窄,只保障由指定危險所引致的損失和損毁,如火警、爆炸、水災、颱風等。