FAQ

FAQ

FAQ

Travel Insurance

Travel Insurance
  • I fell sick while I was traveling but I did not consult a doctor. I only did so when I came back to Hong Kong. Am I covered by Travel Insurance Policy?
  • My planned travel period is stated in my travel policy. In the middle of my trip, I realize that I need to extend my travel plan. What should I do?
  • Taipei has been hit by an earthquake today. Although I plan to go there in one month, I want to cancel my trip now. Can I claim the travel expenses I have already paid for?
  • I lost my camera during the trip. I wanted to keep taking pictures so I bought a new camera overseas. Can I make a claim for that under my travel insurance?
  • What should my policy inception date be for a flight schedule starting at midnight?
  • I have a Travel (Annual) insurance policy. Does it cover all my journeys made during the year?
Unfortunately, your medical expenses incurred after your return to Hong Kong are not covered. Under this policy, we only pay for medical expenses incurred as follow-up treatment in Hong Kong if you have consulted a legally registered medical practitioner overseas for the same sickness during the insured trip.
You are advised to contact our MSIG Insurance Hotline at your earliest to request for our consent over the extension of your trip with the condition that your request comes prior to the expiry of your travel insurance plan. You may also ask your representative in Hong Kong (e.g. family) to contact us. Your policy will be extended upon our consent and the successful payment of additional premium.
Unfortunately, you cannot claim under our policy if you make the cancellation now. Our Trip Cancellation cover will only become operative if the natural disaster has resulted in a more than 24-hour delay in your scheduled departure from Hong Kong.
Yes. If the camera is less than one year old, we will pay the replacement cost of a similar item. If it is more than one year old, we will deduct from the replacement cost a reasonable amount of depreciation. The most important thing is that you need to report the loss at a nearby police station and obtain a "lost certificate" from the police to support your claim with MSIG.
You are recommended to take out travel insurance a day prior to your midnight flight in order to ensure that the journey from your home/office to the airport will also be covered.

For example, your flight is scheduled for 00:30am on 10th March. If you take out travel insurance from 10th March and, unfortunately, your car crashes during your journey to the airport at 11.30pm on 9th March, then you will not be protected by your iTravel Plus Policy, as the travel insurance policy is only effective on 10th March.
The policy provides cover for an unlimited number of journeys made during the insurance period. Maximum duration of each journey should not be more than 90 days. If the journey exceeds 90 days, the whole journey will not be covered under the policy.

If your journey lasts more than 90 days, you are recommended to take out Travel (Single Trip) insurance policy which covers any journey up to 182 consecutive days.

常見問題

常見問題

常見問題

旅遊保險

旅遊保險
  • 在外遊時,我感到身體不適但沒有向醫生求診,直到我回港後才求醫,這樣我會否受到旅遊保障計劃保障?
  • 若我在旅途中想延長旅程,但我的旅遊保單已列明原定的旅程期限,我該怎麼辦?
  • 台北今日剛剛發生地震。雖然我計劃一個月後才到該地旅遊,但我現在想取消行程,請問我的旅費能獲得賠償嗎?
  • 我在旅行時遺失了相機,但我希望可以繼續拍照,因此在當地購買了一部新相機。現在我還可就我的旅遊保險提出索償嗎﹖
  • 我的航班在凌晨起飛,我的旅遊保險該由何日開始生效?
  • 我投保了旅遊保障(全年旅程)計劃,此保單是否保障我全年所有的旅程?
很抱歉,您在港求醫的費用在這情況下將不受此計劃保障。在港求醫的保障,只限覆診用,主要保障您於受保期間,曾在海外向合法註冊醫療機構求醫的同一病症,於返港後再作覆診。
當您得知要延長旅遊程時,請盡快並於計劃保險期屆滿前聯絡我們的MSIG保險熱線。您亦可透過您於香港的代表 (如家人) 聯絡我們,假若我們同意延長保障期,您只要於延長期開始前繳付所需之額外保費,已延長的保障期便可生效。
若您現在取消旅程,抱歉您未能由我們的保單中獲得賠償。只有當自然災害導致您原定行程被延誤超過 24 小時以上時,旅遊保單的取消行程保障方有效。
可以,只要您遺失了的相機從購買日期起計未超過一年,我們便會賠償購買同類相機的費用。若遺失了的相機購買已超過一年,我們則會從購買同類相機費用的賠償中扣除合理的折舊。但最重的是,您必須到就近的警署報案,並取得警署發出的報失證書,作為向MSIG保險索償時遞交的證明文件。
我們建議您將旅遊保險定在凌晨航班起飛的前一日生效,以確保您由住所/辦公室前往機場的旅程都可以受到旅遊保險的保障。
舉例說,您的航班原定於 3 月 10 日凌晨 12 時 30 分起飛。若您投保了由 3 月 10 日開始生效的旅遊保險,而不幸地您在 3 月 9 日晚上 11 時 30 分前往機場的旅程途中遇上意外,那您將不會受保於 3 月 10 日才開始生效的旅遊保險的保障。
此保單保障一年內無限次的旅程,每次旅程為期最多 90 天,如旅程超過 90 天,則整段旅程均不獲保障。

若您的旅程持續多於 90 天,我們建議您投保保障旅程持續達 182 天的 旅遊保障(單次旅程)計劃。